top of page

Chakra For Beginners

What are chakras:  In broad terms, chakras are the main energy systems within the body which manage every aspect of your being. The three major functions they control: physical, psychological and spiritual.  We want to make sure that they are always unblocked as when all of our chakras are open, energy can run through them freely, and harmony exists between the physical body, mind, and spirit.

Chakra translates to "wheel" in Sanskrit, and you can picture them like wheels of flowing positive energy. Put simply, you need to keep your Chakras in balance and one way to do so is through gemstone or crystal placement.  Many will take the crystals or gems and place on the body at the site of the chakra.  Others will hold it close to their bodies such as in a pocket, while others will wear the corresponding gemstones in the form of jewelry.  When utilizing jewelry as the means to balancing, it is most effective when using a pure base such as silver or gold or leather.  If you don't have any stones or crystals handy then simple concentrate and see the corresponding color of your out of balance chakra.  This takes practice but during these difficult times, why not give it a try!


The 7 chakras for beginners are: root, sacral, solar plexus, heart, throat, third eye, and crown.  Here we will give you some insight as to what each represents and corresponding colors you would seek in gems or crystals.

ROOT Chakra

Root chakra represents our foundation. It sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When it is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and be independent. When it's blocked, we feel threatened, as if we're standing on unstable ground.  If you feel controlling, quick to anger, undriven, and self-conscious, your root chakra might need balancing. 

  • Location: Base of spine

  • What it controls: Survival issues such as financial independence, money, and food

  • Color: Red or Black

  • Element: Earth

  • Stone Examples: Hematite, Ruby, Jasper, Garnet, Tourmaline, Agate, Onyx

  • Yoga pose: Warrior I

  • When it develops: 1-7 years old


The sacral chakra helps inform how we relate to our emotions and the emotions of others. It also governs creativity and sexual energy. Those with a blocked sacral chakra could feel a lack of control, out of balance which can lead to "feelings of fear, overwhelm, depression, emotional instability, loss of creativity, and addictive behaviors.

  • Location: Lower abdomen, about 2 inches below the navel

  • What it controls: Your sense of well-being, pleasure, and sexuality

  • Color: Orange and Copper

  • Element: Water

  • Stone Examples: Tiger's Eye, Jasper, Citrine, Moonstone, Coral

  • Yoga pose: Bound Angle Pose

  • When it develops: 8-14 years old


The third chakra, the solar plexus, corresponds with your ability to be confident and in control of your life. Remember when you last had that nervous feeling in your stomach? That's the Solar Plexus chakra at work. If your solar plexus chakra is blocked, you might feel overwhelming amounts of self-doubt. Those with open sacral chakras are open to and tend to express their true being.  As the solar plexus chakra is located near the abdomen, where digestion takes place in the physical body.  When the solar plexus chakra is balanced, digestion runs smoothly and our thoughts do not limit our potential.  

  • Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area

  • What it controls: Self-confidence and self-esteem

  • Color: Yellow and Gold

  • Element: Fire

  • Stone Examples: Amber, Light Citrine, Turquoise, Agate, Topaz, Pirite, Ametrine

  • Yoga pose: Boat Pose

  • When it develops: 15-21 years old

HEART Chakra

The heart chakra, is the bridge between the lower chakras (materiality) and the upper chakras (spirituality). This chakra influences our ability to give and receive love from ourselves and others. If this chakra is blocked, one will have difficulty fully opening up to the people in their life. If someone's heart is open, they can experience deep compassion and empathy.  There is a tendency to associate the heart with romantic relationships but the heart chakra extends far beyond this. There is a reason why we see over 750.000 heart attacks each year! To open your heart chakra, you must love others but most importantly learn to love yourself too which in turn will mend your heart.  

Many of us bury ourselves in baggage so we do not fully receive love from others. Until self-love is recognized and sustained, unconditional love cannot be shared or received. This is the work of the heart chakra.

  • Location: Center of chest

  • What it controls: Love, joy, and inner peace

  • Color: Green and Pink

  • Element: Air

  • Stone Examples: Rose Quartz, Emerald, Malachite, Chrysicolla, Peridot, Amazonite, Tourmaline

  • Yoga pose: Camel Pose

  • When it develops: 21-28 years old


The throat chakra controls our ability to communicate our personal power.  It gives a voice to our heart chakra. When it's fully functioning, it allows us to express ourselves clearly, openly and sincerely. Someone with a blocked throat chakra will feel like they have trouble finding the right words to say how they feel. A blocked chakra here can also manifest itself in the physical form of issues.  When over 19 million people suffer from Thyroid issues, then add to that those with neck pain, laryngitis and acid reflux it is possible it could be in part attributed to an energetic imbalance in the throat chakra, the energy center located in the neck. 

  • What it controls: Communication, self-expression, and truth

  • Color: Light Blue and Turquoise

  • Element: Sound/Music

  • Stone Examples: Aquamarine, Turquoise, Sapphire, Amazonite, Quartz, Labradorite, Topaz

  • Yoga pose: Fish Pose

  • When it develops: 29-35 years old


The third-eye chakra, controls our ability to see the big picture, connecting our intuition. Its the eye to see into our soul: Visions and intuitive hits are not unusual for someone with an open third-eye chakra.  The physical structure most closely related to the third eye chakra is the pituitary gland—the king of the endocrine system. Headaches, hormone imbalances, nightmares, indecision, burnout, and lack of purpose are all common physical manifestations caused by an imbalance in this chakra.

  • Location: Forehead between the eyes 

  • What it controls: Intuition, imagination, and wisdom

  • Color: Dark Blue and Indigo

  • Element: Light

  • Stone Examples: Lapis Lazuli, Sodalite, Sapphire, Azurite 

  • Yoga pose: Child's Pose

  • When it develops: 36-42 years old

CROWN Chakra

The crown chakra, the highest chakra, sits at the crown of the head and represents our ability to be completely spiritually connected. When you completely open your crown chakra—(which is a rarity), you're able to access a higher consciousness.  The physical connection with the crown chakra is associated with the pineal gland, which is well known for producing melatonin, the serotonin-derived hormone that affects our sleep-wake cycles. This is also responsible for depression and mood therefore it is critical that your crown chakra be balanced.

  • Location: The very top of the head

  • What it controls: Inner and outer beauty, spiritual connection

  • Color: Purple, White and Clear

  • Element: Divine Consciousness

  • Stone Examples: Clear quartz, Zircon, Diamond, Amethyst, Labradorite, Lepidolite,Kunzite

  • Yoga pose: Headstand

  • When it develops: 43-49 years old

bottom of page